An English News Website by VicharodayaNewsNetwork

Ind vs SA, 1st ODI | India wins toss, opts to field; match ruduced to 40-over per side after rain delay

BySandeep Patel

Oct 6, 2022

India won the toss and opted to field against South Africa in the rain-hit first one-day international on Thursday.

The toss was delayed for 2 1/2 hours due to incessant showers and a wet outfield. The match has been reduced to 40 overs per side, and bowlers limited to eight overs each.

India’s primary squad has already flown to Australia for the T20 World Cup beginning next week.

The India ODI squad is a secondary outfit led by left-handed batsman Shikhar Dhawan. Batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad makes his debut.

Three reserve players from the World Cup squad are in the ODI squad: Batsman Shreyas Iyer and fast bowlers Deepak Chahar and Mohammed Siraj. Iyer and Siraj are playing but Chahar is rested.

South Africa has much at stake in this three-match series. It is 11th in the ODI Super League standings and in danger of losing automatic qualification for the 2023 Cricket World Cup. South Africa needs to win the series to bolster its qualifying bid.


It has fielded a full-strength squad. Led by out-of-form Temba Bavuma, 13 of its 15-member T20 World Cup squad are in this ODI series. Batsman Heinrich Klaasen and wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi are playing.


India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan.

South Africa: Janneman Malan, Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (captain), Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Source link


Leave a Reply