An English News Website by VicharodayaNewsNetwork

Buchi Babu Final: MP still has the upper hand despite a batting collapse

BySandeep Patel

Sep 9, 2023


Bending his back: Delhi medium-pacer Siddhant rattled the MP middle-order with the second new ball.

Bending his back: Delhi medium-pacer Siddhant rattled the MP middle-order with the second new ball.
| Photo Credit: M. PERIASAMY

Despite a batting collapse, Madhya Pradesh was at an advantage against Delhi at the end of day two in the Take Sports All India Buchi Babu tournament final at the Sri Ramakrishna College ground here on Saturday.

Resuming at 271 for three, MP lost it last seven wickets for just 79 runs to be bowled out for 370 at the stroke of lunch.

However, the MP pacers struck early blows to leave Delhi tottering at 59 for four at one stage before Shivank Vashisht steadied the ship with a patient unbeaten 44 to take his side to 126 for four at stumps.

Earlier, Delhi’s Siddhant Sharma (three for 53) produced an inspired spell (8-1-12-3) with the second new ball and ran through MP’s middle-order.

The left-arm pacer first had overnight batter Adheer Pratap Singh trapped leg-before with a good yorker before dismissing Rishabh Chouhan — last game’s double-centurion — caught down the leg side for a duck. He then sent back Sumit Kushwah (114), who was caught behind, going for an expansive shot outside the off-stump.

Off-spinner Hrithik Shokeen (three for 80) chipped in with two wickets before left-arm spinner Vashisht (three for 53) cleaned up the last two batters.

For MP, Aman Bhadoria’s quickfire 42 off 28 ensured his side went past 350. He smashed Shokeen for two consecutive fours and a six in an over before doing the same to Siddhant with a cover drive, a slash through point and a pull over the long-on fence.

While the pitch is still a good batting surface, there were signs of wear with the odd deliveries keeping low and Delhi will need one of its batters to make a big score if it has to go past MP’s total.

The scores: Madhya Pradesh 370 in 118.5 overs (Arham Aqueel 65, Sumit Kushwah 114, Aniket Verma 68, Aman Bhadoria 42) vs Delhi 126/4 in 58 overs (Shivank Vashisht 44 batting).


Source link